FHA Refinance Loan Prerequisites

The Federal Housing Administration does not provide loans or refinance loans directly to borrowers. Instead, it covers the mortgages issued by approved lenders. Currently, the FHA covers 4.8 million single-family houses, which makes it the largest mortgage insurance companies from the word. If a borrower does not pay his mortgage, the FHA steps in and foots the bill. This permits FHA-approved creditors to offer loans with reduced rates of interest and to approve higher-risk borrowers. The aim of the FHA is to offer affordable housing opportunities, such as low-cost refinances, while still ensuring long-term sustainability for debtors. Consequently, the FHA must display borrowers to be certain they can afford the mortgages they apply for.

Fundamental Requirements

You must have a valid social security number, live in the United States and be old enough, according to your country’s law, to sign a mortgage. In California, for instance, you must be 18 or older to sign a mortgage contract.

Debt-To-Income Ratios

The FHA enforces certain paychecks ratios to decide whether you are able to spend a refinance loan. A debt-to-income ratio is the portion of your income that goes toward paying debts. The FHA looks at two forms of debt-to-income ratios: your own mortgage-payment-to-income ratio, along with your total-fixed-payments-to-income ratio. The first is the portion of your income you will use to pay your mortgage, that must be 29 percent or reduced to qualify. The latter is what percentage of your income you will use to pay your total fixed costs, such as mortgage payments, credit cards, car loans and other debts. To be eligible, the maximum ratio is 41 percent.

County Loan Limits

FHA sets loan limits for every county. This limitation reflects the differences. For instance, the loan limit for a yearlong house in Modoc County, Calif., is $271,050, although the limitation from San Francisco, Calif., is $729,750.

Mortgage Insurance

The FHA requires one to cover mortgage insurance if you make a down payment of less than 20% of their property’s worth. Mortgage insurance insures the FHA in case you do not pay your mortgage. There are two forms of mortgage insurance payments you must make: a one-time premium of 1.5 percent of the total amount of the loan, and monthly payments of 0.5 percent of their total amount of the loan. Once your loan balance is 78 percent of the worth of their property, these obligations stop. For instance, if you get a loan refinance for $90,000 and your house is worth $100,000, you’ll have to pay mortgage insurance until the refinance loan balance is $78,000.

Credit Guidelines

The FHA requires a fantastic credit report; certain criteria varies from one creditor to another. A credit report shows your previous credit transactions and any public record events related to charge, like evictions, foreclosures, short sales and bankruptcies. Your credit report must show at least two lines of credit, such as credit cards, auto loans and mortgages. You must have a credit history that shows a solid record of timely payments to qualify for the FHA loan. If you have been through a bankruptcy, you must wait two years to apply for an FHA refinance loan in the event that you filed under Chapter 7, and one year in the event that you filed under Chapter 13 and are up-to-date with obligations. You will usually not be eligible for a refinance loan if you foreclosed on a mortgage in the previous 3 years. Exceptions can be made if there are extenuating circumstances. There is, however, no flexibility with court conclusions and national loans; they must be paid in full before you may apply.

See related